Hallelujuah !!! It’s bike season….

Freedom from the prison of cold, it is spring time, and with that, this baby is in motion!

Bicycle bicycle bicycle
I want to ride my bicycle bicycle bicycle
I want to ride my bicycle
I want to ride my bike
I want to ride my bicycle
I want to ride it where I like 
-Queen

There is nothing quite as liberating than feeling fresh air in your face.  I want to ride everywhere.  I’ve come so far from a year ago, when I felt so unstable, my steering was awful and I didn’t know how to use my brakes effectively.  Eighteen years, give or take, since I had climbed onto a seat that really wasn’t adjusted to fit my body.  Like with most things, when you feel uncomfortable, you make one of two choices; either stick with it until you get the hang of it, or resigning completely and go for something else.

That choice was made for me back in Germany, summer of 2000 when my cheap ass bike was stolen from the train station in Langen. I had it only one week, not even long enough to get used to the uncomfortable seat.  The whole thing pissed me off and turned me against cycling, so I resorted to just walking.

More than anything, presently, I miss Jess, my riding partner in Lieser.  We were both unsteady and unsure of ourselves.  But together with the infamous bike paths of Germany and our strong desire to get to the nearest town with a DM (think of a small version of Walgreens or CVS without the pharmacy, 24 hours, grocery section – except non refrigerated packaged health foods – and alcohol/tobacco.) Two months in Lieser boosted my confidence.  I was so proud when I could finally ride with no hands.  Who knows, by the end of the summer, perhaps I can pop a wheelie !!!

The only drawback is that sore ass you get from the seat after the long hiatus.

Leave a Reply

